top of page

Make Your Own Prom Dress

The 2018 prom season has come and gone. Back when the anticipation was looming in the air I was asked by friends, family members and random classmates if I had gotten my dress yet. Everytime I answered and saw their eyes get big I felt completely big headed and conceited when I told them; I made my dress.

I have been sewing since I was about 6 years old. I’ve made many collections of pillow cases, ornaments, wallets and stuffed animals along with a quilt, pajama pants and a little cotton dress that I wore once to a wedding.

My older sister and I started sewing at the same time when our mom decided that we should learn the craft, but by the time my sister was a sophomore she took it to another level. She made her prom and ball dress among other creations that left me, and others, completely awestruck and breathless. Although I have no intention of stealing her passion of fashion design,my sister inspired me to make my own prom and ball dresses too.

With the help of my instructor, Peymie Esfandiari, I made a sketch, a pattern and a dress. It took me a while to finally decide on the dress I wanted to make. I looked for inspiration online and in magazines but it all came together when I found my Fabric. I went to my favorite fabric store, Stone Mountain and Daughter in Berkeley and found the cherry on top that completed my vision and made my pattern become a dress.

I’m not the only one who made their prom dress or had the help of Ms. Peymie Esfandiari. Peymie was a fashion designer in france before she came to the united States to raise her family. She now teaches kids ages 12 and up how to sketch an outfit, make it into a pattern and turn it into a masterpiece. At the end of the “fashion” season we have a fashion show to show off our creations to our friends and family’s. For me it’s a great creative outlet and being able to say I made something that I am so proud of, like my prom dress, is very satisfying. I will definitely be making more garnets in the future, like my ball dress for next year.

Recommended Reading
Search By Tags
Follow The Page 
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page