top of page

I Was too Quick to Judge

I watched him drink one beer after another, and another. It continued on until 5 p.m. for my whole shift. I start work at 12.

I was surprised at the behavior of this old man. I had never seen him around town. This was in Kaslo, Canada, and it’s one of the smallest towns I’ve been to. Everyone knows each other in the area.

I asked my grandma who this mystery man was. Without hesitation, she called him the town drunk. Shortly after, she mentioned that he had been best friends with a woman who had passed away just a few months before.

I immediately felt sorry for the man. Here I was, judging him, with no idea what inspired his behavior. I thought about how losing my best friend would affect me, which brought up a great empathy in me for this man.

Later that night, my family went for dinner at the pizzeria where I had watched him drink his beer earlier.

We were finishing our pizza when I realized that there was a faint piano playing in the background. Not only was this person playing the piano, but it was the most beautiful piano playing I have ever heard in my life. The song was unrecognizable, but it brought tears to my eyes. As we were leaving, I realized that I recognized the pianist. It was the old man.

This taught me that we can never judge a person by their appearance, as we may never have any idea about what could be going on in someone’s life.


Recommended Reading
Search By Tags
Follow The Page 
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page