top of page

Halal & Kosher Eats in the Bay Area


Have you ever been in a situation that caused you to unknowingly slip up and consume something that your religion or culture doesn’t permit? This happens especially when you are dining at popular and cheap restaurants. Most use pork by-product or alcohol with no warning. It happens to me all the time until I began going to specified *Halaal restaurants and delis. In my quest to find pizza parlors or quick-bites where I don’t have to worry about the food being haram (something that is forbidden in Islamic law) I’ve found some affordable great eats.

Typically Mediterranean and Middle Eastern restaurants load their plates with food and the standard meal will cost you about $8-12. Every dig that I have listed boasts a vegetarian and pescatarian menu if lamb or beef isn’t Q: Where are some good places to go? A:​ There’s a place in Walnut Creek called Alborz. It’s Persian Cuisine and the quality of food is amazing. Mirchi Cafe is American, Asian, and Pakistani fusion. They have two locations one in Hayward and another in Dublin. You always want to have variety. I feel like and for that, Mirchi’s is my go-to. If I want to have Asian food, I can go there and it’s still Halal. Wanna have American food? Go there and it’s Halal. thing! If you have strict dietary guidelines, you will no longer need to question if your produce is around meat-product with the options below.

If you are looking for a pizza parlor with variations in ingredients and a style that is made to order, Pizza My Way located in Pleasant Hill, Seaside, and Pacific Grove, is without a doubt my number one suggestion! I spoke with the owner, Shaker Kishk, and co-owner, Ibrahim Alloun, of how their vision of a Halal pizza parlor was birthed. Pizza My Way is a family-owned establishment that has been in the Bay Area since 1994. Before opening his restaurant, Mr. Kishk wanted to ensure that it catered to everyone regardless of religion, country of origin, and race.

Mr. Alloun noted that Pizza My Way is the only Halal pizzeria in the Bay Area and stressed the meaning and importance of having a business that makes an honest living by selling pork-and-alcohol-free products. By keeping their beliefs first and fostering their motto through everything that they do, it adds to the authenticity of not just their food, but their service.

I spoke with Las Lomas’ very own junior, about her favorite Halal and Kosher restaurants and she told me that when she’s in the mood for authentic kebabs, Sultan Kebabs located in Danville satisfies every craving that she has. In addition to her pick for a Halal joint, we chatted about her struggles eating out, she told me that it is very hard to find Halal restaurants forcing her to eat vegetables whenever dining out.

I was also able to speak with teacher, Ms. Hasani, here at Las Lomas about her daily experience of maintaining a Halal lifestyle.

 

Q&A with Ms. Hasani

Q: Any advice for those who are starting a Halal or Kosher diet?


A:​ It’s a little bit hard but if it means that much to you, you do anything necessary and youbadapt to the change.


Q: What type of desserts?


A:​ So desserts: there’s Rasmalai, it originated in India but it’s spread throughout the Middle East and every country puts their own spin on it. Baklava is also really good. It melts in your mouth and is also a popular dessert amongst the Middle Eastern/Mediterranean community. In Afghanistan, we have jhala. It’s ice cream with really thin crispy noodles that also melt in your mouth. It’s made with french vanilla, honey, and rosewater.


Q: Where are some good places to go?


A:​ There’s a place in Walnut Creek called Alborz. It’s Persian Cuisine and the quality of food is amazing. Mirchi Cafe is American, Asian, and Pakistani fusion. They have two locations one in Hayward and another in Dublin. You always want to have variety. I feel like and for that, Mirchi’s is my go-to. If I want to have Asian food, I can go there and it’s still Halal. Wanna have American food? Go there and it’s Halal.


Q: How long have you been keeping Halal and what obstacles have you encountered?


A: I have been Halal for fourteen years now. When I first transitioned from eating whatever I wanted to having a strict guideline was really hard, but after that it was

super easy. I don’t even think twice about it, it’s subconscious.



Recommended Reading
Search By Tags
Follow The Page 
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page