top of page

The Art of Thrift Shopping

C. Cabungcal

What is clothing to you? For many, it’s something that’s thrown on in the morning without much thought. For others, it serves a more meaningful purpose; it’s the key to expression.

Las Lomas seniors Ava McCandless and Bella Bockman and junior Zoe Larkin are three of the many people on campus who are able to express themselves more clearly through the lenses of a pair of retro sunglasses found on the dusty shelf of a thrift shop in San Francisco. In other words, they have mastered the art of thrift shopping, which has contributed to their strong sense of self and of the world.

“I’m a lot different now. I wear bolder clothes because when you’re thrift shopping, everything’s so unique, especially when it’s vintage,” said McCandless. “If I see a dress or pants that are just so cool, I’ll buy it, and I’ll figure out a way to wear it.”

Like those who remember their first time successfully riding a bike, Larkin remembers the exact moment that sparked her love for thrift shopping.

“I bought my first thrifted item that I remember probably when I was thirteen. It was in L.A. and it was a pink colored shirt with eyes all over it. I thought it was the coolest thing ever,” said Larkin. “After that, I never really went back to going to malls and generic chain stores because I just found it so much more interesting to go somewhere unique with such a great variety.”

Bockman has always thrift shopped, but it wasn’t until recently that she committed to only buying second-hand clothing. A big part of her decision came from the fact that wearing reused clothing is inexpensive and environmentally-friendly. “It’s really sustainable because there’s already a huge market of clothes that have already been used and that are still cute,” said Bockman. “It’s an easier way to be sustainable and save money.

The sustainable factor of thrift shopping was also an important reason for why McCandless began the summer before junior year.

“I’m vegan, and my friend’s mom was like, ‘You do all this stuff for animals, but what about humans?’” said McCandless. “People who make clothes, it’s usually in sweatshops for fast fashion like Forever 21 and common brands, so I was like, ‘That’s a good point.’ I just wanted to stop buying new clothes because it adds waste.”

Although thrift shopping can be difficult, all three students advise that maintaining your patience and determination is the key. “Start off easy, and don’t go crazy with everything you buy,” said Bockman. “That’s what I did, and I bought a bunch of stuff, and I was like ‘I don’t actually want this.’”

Larkin suggests shopping at the local stores first. “You don’t have to seek out a specific one in a big city. I would recommend to just try a bunch of things on and see what sparks inspiration within you. After that, I think it’s fun to go into different places and seek out specific things and find out what you enjoy.”

The students’ favorite thrift shops include Buffalo Exchange in Berkeley, Savors in Dublin, and Goodwill. There’s also Mars on Telegraph, which Larkin loves to go to.

“It is so beautiful. It has clothing from every decade laid out, and it has sections of just jean jackets and fur coats and old t-shirts and leather pants and boas; it just has everythings,” said Larkin.

Bockman also recommends checking out online marketplaces for thrifted clothing including Poshmark and Facebook Sale Groups.

The pressure to wear what everyone else is wearing no longer exists while thrift shopping. Instead, it’s replaced with the desire to find the perfect shirt or pair of jeans that will tell your story along with the stories of many others. Suddenly, it’s more than just a piece of clothing.

Recommended Reading
Search By Tags
Follow The Page 
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page